March 31, 2023

Furniture Makers

We Speak Furniture

ISFD Announces the 2020 Pinnacle Awards Finalists

After receiving the largest number of entries in over a decade, a panel of industry notables and veteran judges has reviewed the submissions to determine the finalists for the International Society of Furniture Designers’ (ISFD) 2020 Pinnacle Awards.  The finalists will be feted during the Pinnacle Awards Online TV Presentation, and the winners announced, on Saturday, October 24 at 6 pm ET, via the organization’s YouTube channel. Acclaimed interior designer Corey Damen Jenkins will keynote the awards ceremony. 

“Each year when the submissions arrive, I am more and more impressed with the extraordinary quality of entries and glad that I do not have the judges’ difficult task of selecting the finalists and ultimately the winners,” says John Conrad, executive director. “ISFD really appreciates the time and dedication that the judges devote to the detailed review and evaluation process and I want to extend my gratitude to them for their help and to our sponsors who make this all possible.”

The judging panel represents an influential mix of high-profile industry leaders and innovators including: Christi Barbour, co-founder & partner, Barbour Spangle Design; Everick Brown, founder & principal, Everick Brown Design; Kelly DiFoggio, International Textiles Alliance president and director of sales and marketing for Yarn and Loom; Diane Falvey, Furniture Lighting & Décor editor in chief;  John Gill, Haverty’s EVP merchandising; Susan Inglis, executive director, Sustainable Furnishings Council; Stephanie James, Allen and James Interior Design co-founder & co-owner; Kris Kolar, buyer, Clive Daniel Home; Ida McCausland, IFDA international president; Kaitlin Petersen, Business of Home editor in chief; Rick Schroeder, professional furniture designer and past president & chairman of the ISFD board; Jomo Tariku, Ethiopian American artist and industrial designer; Maria West, Maria West Photography founder/designer.

The 2020 finalists, all professional product and furniture designers along with a few design students, envision and create the designs that ultimately become some of the most sought-after home furnishings items around the world.  Their works are produced and marketed by companies large and small, but with a common denominator—to proudly illustrate that artistry, craft, and innovation are important and quite saleable to the consumer marketplace.  A list of all the finalists along with images of their products can be found here: 2020 Pinnacle Awards finalists.

The theme for this year’s Pinnacle Awards Online TV Presentation is “Great Designs Unmasked,” a recognition of the need to change the Pinnacle’s normal gala format for 2020 as well as a chance to reveal to the world the positive impact good design has on mental and physical well-being. Presenters, stationed at design-centric locations around the country, including several High Point locales, will honor nearly 70 finalists in 20 categories.  Musical guests, Turpentine Shine, will perform original tunes throughout the one-hour program.

The 2020 Awards are sponsored by the High Point Market Authority, Leggett & Platt, International Market Centers, Herzog Veneers, Inc., Continental Hardware, Furniture Today, Pinnacle Financial Partners, Furniture Design Studios, Senlong Wood Company, Sherwin-Williams, High Point University and Elements Studios.

About The International Society of Furniture Designers: ISFD is an association advocating for outstanding design and the furniture designers whose creativity drives the industry’s engine. They seek to elevate the role of design and designer through networking, mentorship and professional development opportunities, and continuously promote, advance and support the profession of furniture design and its positive impact.

With professional and student members around the world and across the country, their diverse professional membership specializes in residential and contract furnishings and accessories. More information about ISFD and their awards programs, please visit their website,